Asia Cup 2022 Sri Lanka


All five Asian Test countries will compete in the Asia Cup 2022 T20 International event, with a sixth team being added through a qualifier.

The Asia Cup in 2022, which will be a Twenty20 International competition this time around, is scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka between August 27 and September 11, according to the official website. Following a meeting of the member countries conducted on Saturday, the dates and the host were confirmed by the International Olympic Committee.

Asia Cup 2022, Teams

There will be a total of five Test teams competing in the tournament: Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh. There will also be one more Asian team, which will be determined following a qualification competition that will take place starting on August 20.

The Asia Cup, which rotates between one-day international (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) forms, was last played in 2018 and was won by India. The epidemic, on the other hand, has prompted the delay of the 2020 edition until further notice.

The 2020 edition was originally scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka, however, Covid-19 postponed the tournament until 2021 before finally rescheduling it for Asia Cup 2022. Pakistan, which was initially scheduled to host the Asia Cup 2022, has now been awarded the hosting rights for the 2023 tournament.

You Can Find IPL 2022 Schedule, Match Dates, and Fixtures

Qualifier Tournament

The sixth team to qualify for the tournament will be selected from the following: the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Singapore, or Hong Kong. Each of these teams earned their spot in the qualification by finishing either first or second in the ACC regional competitions in 2020.

The 2018 Asia Cup will be the 15th in the series, which began in Sharjah in 1984 and has since expanded throughout the world. With seven titles to their credit, including the lone Twenty20 International in 2016, India is the most successful team ever in the tournament. Cinque times, Sri Lanka has taken first place in the competition.

Jay Shah, the BCCI secretary, will serve as the Asian Cricket Council’s (ACC) President for one more year, till 2024, it was unanimously resolved during the annual general meeting. A new vice-president, Pankaj Khimji of the Oman Cricket Board, has been appointed to the ACC, and Mahinda Vallipuram of the Malaysia Cricket Association has been appointed to the chairmanship of the development committee.

IPL 2022 Squads


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here





Related Stories